Brockbank Debate Team Excels at District Tournament!

Submitted by brenda.johnson on Fri, 02/26/2010 - 14:15

Pictured is the Brockbank Debate Team; back - Sara White, Kennedy Hopkins, Mallory Sorenson, Bailee Rasmussen, Kaylee Hudson, Marissa Bradford, Brayden Critchfield, and Lincoln Morris. Front- Bri Perkins, Elise Wilson, Haylie Smith, Kourtney Beus, Makayla Olson, Tessa Christensen, Kameron Rivest, and Sally Hansen (in front)

Brockbank sixth graders have been working hard the last few months preparing for the district debate tournament. Pictured above is the Brockbank debate team. Under the direction of Mrs. Kristel Peterson, students have spent hours researching the statewide topic of Utah's energy exports, dividing into affirmative and negative teams, and preparing oral arguments. At the tournament on February 25, our students did extremely well. In fact, they took over 1/3 of all of the awards! Individual speaking awards went to Bri Perkins, Kourtney Beus, Hailey Smith, Elise Wilson, Marissa Bradford, Kaylee Hudson, Kennedy Hopkins, Sara White, and Bailee Rasmussen. As the students debated in teams of two, overall winners are in pairs. On the affirmative side, Bri Perkins and Elise Wilson took second place overall. On the negative side, Sally Hansen and Bailee Rasmussen took fourth place, Sara White and Kennedy Hopkins placed third, and Marissa Bradford and Kaylee Hudson placed first overall. All of the teams mentioned will continue on to the statewide debate tournament in April. Way to go Brockbank debate team!